

#### LOS ANGELES COUNTY REGISTRAR-RECORDER/COUNTY CLERK

### TIME OFF TO VOTE

Vote Centers are open up to 10 days before Election Day between the hours of 10 AM to 7 PM. On Election Day, those hours are extended to 7 AM to 8 PM.



If you are scheduled to be at work during that time and you do not have sufficient time outside of working hours to vote at a statewide election, California law allows you to take up to two hours off to vote, without losing any pay.

You may take as much time as you need to vote, but only two hours of that time will be paid.

Your time off for voting can be only at the beginning or end of your regular work shift, whichever allows the most free time for voting and the least time off from your regular working shift, unless you make another arrangement with your employer.

If three working days before the election you think you will need time off to vote, you must notify your employer at least two working days prior to the election.



#### LOS ANGELES COUNTY REGISTRAR-RECORDER/COUNTY CLERK

## TIME OFF TO VOTE

# NOTICE TO EMPLOYERS REGARDING EMPLOYEE TIME OFF FOR VOTING

State law (California Elections Code section 14001) requires employers to post a notice to their employees advising them of provisions for taking paid leave for the purpose of voting in statewide elections.

This notice must be posted conspicuously at the place of work, if practicable, or elsewhere where it can be seen as employees come and go to their place of work, not less than 10 days before every statewide election.

If you have any questions about this notice or other election related information, please contact the Secretary of State's Voter Hotline at (800) 345-VOTE (8683). Employees are eligible for paid time off for the purpose of voting only if they do not have sufficient time outside of working hours to vote. The intent of the law is to provide an opportunity to vote for workers who would not be able to do so because of their jobs.

Polls are open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Election Day.

Employees can be given as much time as they need in order to vote, but only a maximum of two hours is paid.

Employers may require employees to give advance notice that they will need additional time off for voting.

Employers may require time off to be taken only at the beginning or end of the employee's shift.

CALIFORNIA ELECTIONS CODE SECTION 14000

Rev. 4/2022